Saying Goodbye. Or Adios, I suppose.

Over the last two weeks I have put over 2,000 miles on Skip (the car my sister and I share… though I guess it’s all hers now!) traveling up and down the west coast in an attempt to fully move out of Seattle and get all of my belongings into a storage unit in Vegas. Clearly, there were a few goodbyes along the way and I want to thank everyone who took time out of their schedules to come see me at Shultzy’s, watched the Fremont St. Experience with me while sipping giant margaritas, endured the leaking roof at Remedy’s, ate pizza with me at Pub N Sub, and sent along words of encouragement. Your love and support means the world to me.

I’m currently in the Arlington Holiday Inn, enjoying their free high speed wireless with my roommate Bethany. The air conditioning is blasting (I had a wonderfully sweaty walk from the Metro station in which I cursed all 80 lbs of my luggage – maybe the Peace Corps knew what was best for me after all…) and I’m last minute calling people I didn’t get to say goodbye to in person. Tomorrow the volunteers get together for the first time, mainly to do paperwork and get basic instructions, and then we all fly out together early Wednesday morning.

My beloved iPhone will turn into a beautiful paperweight soon and I’m not sure what the internet situation is going to be like when I get to the training site, but I am going to try my best to keep in touch and update the blog regularly (I know, I know – every schmuck with a blog says that). Feel free to email, FB, comment – I’ll see it all when I do find internet.

Oh, and a little request; I understand that your lives will all continue without me (hard as it may be to believe), but I would really appreciate it if you all would try your best to

1. Not forget me.

2. Not get married while I’m gone.

Thanks. And love you all!

This entry was posted in Pre-Departure. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

