A New Year

(It’s a little bit early, but seeing as how I will be ringing in el Año Nuevo at the incredible Lago Atitlan with fellow volunteers sin [without] computer, I figured it’d be best to post now.)

I’m not really a new year’s resolution type of person. Sometimes I set them. They then go unaccomplished. I always feel guilty and avoid making them the next few years to escape the shame of repeat failures. Until I get it into my head that “This is the year!” and I start the process over.

So, I suppose I’ve again reached that point of delusion. But it’s more than that. I feel that my current situation and this year hold so much opportunity (once in a lifetime opportunities!) that it would be a huge mistake on my part not to adopt a more proactive attitude. A point made even more clear after reading fellow PCMI Volunteer (and wonderful human being) Pat’s lovely blog entry of goals.

  • I’m going to continue working with the youth group I’ve started in a nearby aldea and start at least one more. In addition to the English they’ve requested, I’d like to continue with lessons related to world culture and geography. I want these activities to culminate in the painting of world map murals and, for the females, in Estrellas de Hoy Camps (in which activities related to self esteem, goal setting and decision making take place… along with s’more making).
  • I’m going to continue working with my two established women’s groups and start at least three more. I hope to continue meeting with them at least monthly and teach them the process of project design and management. And then assist them as they define priorities, develop community project ideas, plan, seek funding, manage and evaluate.
  • I’m going to help make my office a more efficient place by showing co-workers how to utilize available tools (mainly Excel and the internet) and by demonstrating various event planning skills. I’m also going to help the Women’s Office get to the point where we regularly develop and follow monthly plans.
  • I’m going to either pursue a bottle school or library project in my municipality.
  • I’m going to finally become legitimately “bilingual”.
  • I’m going to move into my own home in order to raise chickens for eggs and plant a garden.
  • I’m going to become a master tortilla maker.
  • I’m going to keep writing this blog.
  • I will floss everyday. (Of the thirty or so volunteers that just went through mid-service medical exams, ALL BUT TWO had cavities. That’s what all that bread and those sugary refrescos will do to you!)
  • Despite the distance, I will be as supportive and involved as possible in my family’s life and the lives of my friends back home.
  • I’m going to lower the number of bags of what I like to call “mental health Doritos” I eat and become more patient and less prone to extreme frustration in the face of the challenges that present themselves everyday.
  • I’m going to attempt to appreciate each day, each challenge, each opportunity and each experience that I am lucky enough to have come my way.

So, here we go. Happy New Year.

This entry was posted in Volunteer Life Begins. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A New Year

  1. AimeePalooza says:

    You are a beautiful, wonderful woman, Carmen. 2011 is going to be an exciting year for a lot of people because of you. I love you, friend.

  2. Jenn says:

    much better things going on in 2011 – believe it! ❤

  3. Pingback: Feliz Dos Mil Doce | Carmen in Guatemala

Leave a Reply

