Wherein I Assure You That I am Not Quitting

First of all, sorry to those I thoroughly alarmed with my April Fool’s post. (Particularly to my parents, who immediately called me all in a tizzy. Love you Mom and Dad!)

I’d like to reassure you all that I am not early terminating. In fact, I can think of very few reasons why I would elect to leave early (loss of limb? a million dollars? marriage proposal from glee’s Kevin McHale?). Many things could happen in the next 19 months but, as things are right now, I see myself completing service and earning that illustrious RPCV title. Particularly after seeing the most recent class of volunteers to COS (Close of Service) at the 50th Anniversary celebration. They looked happy and fulfilled. They looked like they truly understood why they call Peace Corps the “toughest job you’ll ever love”. They… well… they looked like smug bastards. And I want that.

And the ride to COS definitely has its perks. Like this:

Come visit. I’ll take you. We’ll stay here and drink fruity blended alcoholic beverages and lay around in hammocks:

Photo Credit: Little Brown

Yes, I have complaints. I will always have complaints. Complaining is probably in the top three list of things I do well. But when I compare the pros and cons and remind myself of the reasons I came here to begin with and stop complaining for a little while, it becomes very, very clear that I am not going anywhere.

Especially when I celebrate the little things, like my neighbor educating me on the edibleness of flor de izote, aka yucca flowers (we had one of these bushes in our yard for years and I was never aware that you could snack on it!), and figuring out how to turn them into lunch.

And if you’re still skeptical, I leave you with these:

This entry was posted in Volunteer LIfe. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wherein I Assure You That I am Not Quitting

  1. Jenn says:

    I want to come visit! Boo. I need rich parents. Or something.

Leave a Reply

